“Bazhov’s House” - a place where time stands still

вторник 25 июня 2024, 13:06

____

Library continues to introduce you to interesting books dedicated to the 90th anniversary of Sverdlovsk oblast.

We asked the students being in March in translation practice in the Library to tell about their favourite places in Sverdlovsk oblast and recommend books about these places.

Today we want to present you the
book by Ariadna Bazhova-Gaidar "The House at the Corner" reviewed by 2nd-year student of Linguistics Elena Brusenkova.

There is no one who has not heard of the Bazhov House in Yekaterinburg. In my opinion, this place remains one of the various sort of portals that give us a chance to get a glimpse into the past and take a break from the sight of endless high-rise buildings. It lets us get inspired, think and reflect. I first saw this House when I was an undergraduate student, we attended the Confucius Institute. Despite the fact that there were many remarkable buildings around, the Bazhov House was a breath of fresh air in the endless rush of student life. I wanted to achieve more success, to understand more, but at that time I never had a chance to visit this place, though I really wanted to.

Finally, after some time, I got an opportunity to visit the museum. That time this place was filled with even more meaning. Studying better the biography of Bazhov, I felt that I became closer not only to the great writer, but also to the place itself.